Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 1st, 2008

Pesto

I don’t usually go for pesto. Strange, I know, given that I enjoy the flavor of both basil and pine nuts. It is such a simple recipe to veganize and throw together quickly for a dinner at home; yet, despite all that, it usually just seems too oily and heavy for my liking.

Obviously, somewhere along the line, I opened my mind and decided to permit pesto the opportunity to change my opinion.

Several months ago I planted the teeniest tiniest of seeds into a tiny tiny peat pot and, over the past few months, through the magic of balanced soil composition, daily waterings, and tropical sun, I now have a large, bushy, bountiful bush of basil in my garden. I’ve been making frequent cuttings from the plant for use in the kitchen yet it appears to grow before my eyes. I began to ponder how I could possibly use more basil than I already am and realized that I would have to find recipes that utilize basil as the primary ingredient. Cue the pesto.

If you’re curious to see how this pesto was put to use, be sure to tune back in – you won’t be disappointed!

Pesto

1 cup basil
½ cup pine nuts
1/8 cup nutritional yeast
1 clove garlic
A few tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

Process the basil, pine nuts, nutritional yeast, and garlic in a food process ad pour in the live oil until it achieves your desired consistency. I used about 2-3 tbsp of olive oil for my slightly chunky pesto.

Read Full Post »